KRA Call Centre

Tel:  +254 (020) 4999 999

Cell: +254 (0711) 099 999


Home Customs & Border Control About Customs

About Customs Department PDF Print

About Customs Service Department

The Customs Services Department (previously known as Customs and Excise Department) of the Kenya Revenue Authority was established by an Act of Parliament in 1978. It is the largest of the four revenue departments in terms of manpower, revenue collection and countrywide operational network.
Our Vision is to be globally recognized as a modern Customs Administration that is responsive to the needs of the 21st century customer.
The primary function of the Department is to collect and account for import duty and VAT on imports. Other taxes collected by the Department on an agency basis include:

  • Petroleum Development Levy
  • Sugar Levy
  • Road Maintenance Levy
  • Import Declaration Fee (IDF)
  • Road Transit Toll
  • Directorate of Civil Aviation Fees
  • Air Passenger Service Charge
  • KAA Concession Fees
  • Fees on Motor Vehicle permits

Apart from its fiscal responsibilities, the Customs Services Department is responsible for facilitation of legitimate trade; and protection of society from illegal entry and exit of prohibited goods.
The Department is headed by the Commissioner of Customs Services Department deputized by the Senior Deputy Commissioner.


Times Tower Haile Selassie Avenue
P.O.BOX 48240 - 00100 GPO Nairobi Tel 020-3310900, 020-2810000 Fax 341342
Tulipe Ushuru Tujitegemee!

Copyright 2016, Kenya Revenue Authority. All Rights Reserved.
ISO 9001:2015

/* */